Dates: May 18, 2017– May 21, 2017

An exciting roster of over 150 participating artists are heading to the 11th edition of the electronic music festival Moogfest scheduled for May 18th-21 in Durham, North Carolina. The biggest confirmed names include indie rockers Animal Collective, the glitchy Flying Lotus, dance act Simian Mobile Disco, Stranger Things soundtrack composers Survive, acid house legends 808 State, Stones Throw label founder Peanut Butter Wolf, modular synthesizer pioneer Suzanne Ciani, and Gotye, performing a tribute to late French electronic producer Jean-Jacques Perrey.

In addition to four days of music, there are numerous stages presenting thematic programming, classes, workshops, conversations, film screenings and live scorings, installations, and presentations by instrument brands. The festival will center around multiple themes: The Future of Creativity, Black Quantum Futurism, Hacking Systems, Instrument Design, The Joyful Noise of S.T.E.A.M. (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art & Math), Protest, Sci-Fi Wishes & Utopian Dreams, Spatial Sound, Transhumanism and Techno-Shamanism, each with their own unique programming. As nearby Raleigh, North Carolina has been the site for the controversial “bathroom bill” restricting bathroom access for transgender individuals, social impact is at the front of the organizer’s minds, and Black Quantum Futurism and the Protest stages will provide a platform for underrepresented voices.

Moogfest has been held since 2004 to commemorate Robert Moog, the inventor of the Moog synthesizer, who passed away in Asheville, North Carolina in 2005. The Moog line of products were the first to combine commercial viability and a compact size, in addition to doing away with patchbays in favor of the familiar piano keyboard. Today, the instruments are widely recognized today for having a superior, sought-after analogue sound.

Visit the site for more information. General admission passes for the event are $249. A VIP pass runs $499 and will get you priority access to all events, complimentary food and drinks in some areas, and a gift bag. Those interested in building their own instruments can pay $1,500 for an engineer festival pass to participate in a two-day synth-building workshop led by Moog engineers. This tier also includes VIP access.

As of this writing, the full list of slated artists and participants includes:

808 State

Animal Collective

Avalon Emerson



Dave Harrington

Deantoni Parks

Derrick May

DJ Lance Rock

Driftless Recordings

Elon Katz

Elysia Crampton


Flying Lotus




Greg Belson

JDH & Dave P

Jessy Lanza

Jon Gibson



Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith

Kill Alters




Laurie Spiegel

Lena Willikens

London O’Connor

Marisa Anderson

Mary Lattimore


Michael Winslow


Moor Mother


Nick Zinner

Nona Hendryx

Not Waving


Octo Octa

Peanut Butter Wolf


Princess Nokia

Pye Corner Audio

Rbts Win

Riddim Macka Sound System

Russell E.L. Butler

Ry X

Silent Servant

Simian Mobile Disco

Sudan Archives


Suzanne Ciani

Suzi Analogue


Tasha the Amazon

The Afrofuturist Affair

The Haxan Cloak


Visible Cloaks

Wolf Eyes

Pin It on Pinterest